William's Blog...with a smile!

head_left_image

Can I have my dad or uncle do my inspection?

With the proper notification they certainly can.

But why?

Do they know Electrical, Plumbing, Hvac.

How about water issues, and roofing or siding.

Cracks in the foundation.

Will they check the outlets to see that they are working.Can they tell if the circuit box

is wired right?

 

I believe that dad or your uncle may know some of the issues.

But why take the  chance with the rest of it?

You only get one chance to get it all right!

 

Not all foundation issues are as blatant as this one!

Comment balloon 10 commentsWilliam Feela • February 18 2018 05:20AM

Comments

Oh good old uncle Joe and Daddy will provide years of wisdom:)) not necessarily quality inspection, Endre

Posted by Endre Barath, Jr., Realtor - Los Angeles Home Sales 310.486.1002 (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices) 8 months ago

Morning William.

Been there, in fact I've had them purchase the home without an inspection, to their later detriment

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty AR LLC) 8 months ago

When I get asked that, I always say "sure, why not? But when you use them, you use them, you'll be signing a waiver of professional inspection for me and don't call me after you've closed and find issues with the home." That gets attention and 99.9% of the time they end up opting for a professional inspection.

Posted by Nina Hollander, Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage | Charlotte, NC) 8 months ago

Hi William Feela - If they are home inspectors or contractors by trade...go for it. 

Posted by Sheri Sperry - MCNE®, (928) 274-7355 ~ YOUR Solutions REALTOR® (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) 8 months ago

Good morning William. Love the picture and you are right....why chance it.

Posted by Sheila Anderson, The Real Estate Whisperer Who Listens 732-715-1133 (Referral Group Incorporated) 8 months ago

You can in Wisconsn ....IF they are licensed home inspectors !

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) 8 months ago

Good morning William Feela ,

Ahhhhh..... don't you love the father who is an expert at everything! Wise to hired a licensed inspector and have it done correctly!

Posted by Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR, Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate (Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.346.1799) 8 months ago

I have seen this many times and many times get a call about an ittue...to a late!!!

Posted by Vern Eaton, Realtor 651-674-7449 8 months ago

That photo is absolutely frightening.  I recommend that home buyers have home inpections provided by qualified home inspectors.

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) 8 months ago

Good reminder to use a qualified inspector, if Dad or Uncle are one then fine.

Posted by Nick & Trudy Vandekar, 610-203-4543, Tredyffrin Easttown Realtors, Philly Main Line (Long & Foster Real Estate Inc 610-225-7400) 7 months ago

Participate